I’ve been meaning to post a review of the opening night of the New York Dolls “‘Cause I Sez So” tour, with The Cliks opening for them,  from last Wednesday night (5/20/09) at the Belly Up Tavern in Solana Beach, CA, but haven’t gotten around to it.  Short review: GO SEE THIS SHOW!!!  Especially if you’re on the west coast and get the great opportunity to see The Cliks (“Snakehouse” and “Dirty King”) open for the New York Dolls!!!!  I figured if I don’t at least post these videos now, I might not ever get around to it. 😉 (Laziness ensues…) I’ll try to write more later, especially on the main reason I went to the show, the incredibly talented The Cliks, whose new CD “Dirty King” is fantastic, and available at the show, as well as various online options such as iTunes for $11.99, “Snakehouse” for $9.90.

In the meantime, here are the two videos I was able to tape before “the man” decided to pay me a little visit to say I couldn’t tape the show.  Hmmm, interesting that there are COUNTLESS NY Dolls live performance videos online, as well as COUNTLESS Belly Up Tavern videos online, yet I couldn’t tape in order to spread the NY Dolls love?  In all honesty I was fine with not taping and just enjoying the show.  I did tape several Cliks songs, but unfortunately the sound is pretty bad–too close to the speakers, I think.  Anyway, here ya go with some New York Dolls.

Opening video, with the NY Dolls coming on stage to opera music.  Song (Looking for a Kiss) starts about one minute in.

Last few seconds of this video of “‘Cause I Sez So” are when Mr. Security Man was telling me no taping, hence the camera going black.

