You are currently browsing the category archive for the ‘Imagine Peace’ category.

Today would have been John Lennon’s 67th birthday, and has been chosen to be the day of the Imagine Peace Tower unveiling in Reykjavik, Iceland (LIVE unveiling times and links listed below). I remember the night John was killed and one of my friends at work being so utterly devastated by the news. What an impression this man had on so many lives, and continues to have. In celebration of the work and efforts John put forth for peace, I’m including the video and lyrics of my most favorite of songs; John’s Imagine. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if everyone could put aside their hate, their religious differences, their bigotry, their cynicism, and truly attempt to live in peace for at least today–just one day? Perhaps it’s an unrealistic expectation, but couldn’t each of you reading this make a vow to be peaceful and invoke peace around you for just 24 hours? You have to start somewhere, so why not in your own tiny universe?

Happy Birthday, John, and thank you for all you did!

Imagine

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

Yoko Ono: About the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER

Watch the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER Unveiling LIVE at
20:45pm GMT, 3.45pm Eastern, 12.45pm Western (times right)
Also viewable on Icelandic TV: RUV (here) and Channel 2 (here).
After the broadcast, click here to view our specially made tribute video.

Check back later – we will post highlights soon after the event.

OCTOBER 9TH – UNVEILING DAY
Please join us at http://www.IMAGINEPEACE.com at

Oct 9th 11.45pm Anchorage
Oct 9th 12.45pm Los Angeles
Oct 9th 01.45pm Guatemala
Oct 9th 02.45pm Chicago
Oct 9th 03.45pm New York
Oct 9th 03.45pm Montreal
Oct 9th 04.45pm Rio de Janeiro
Oct 9th 07.45pm Reykjavik
Oct 9th 08.45pm Liverpool
Oct 9th 09.45pm Europe
Oct 9th 10.45pm Baghdad
Oct 9th 11.45pm Moscow
Oct 10th 12.45am Karachi
Oct 10th 01.45am Dhaka
Oct 10th 02.45am Bangkok
Oct 10th 03.45am Shanghai
Oct 10th 04.45am Tokyo
Oct 10th 05.45am Sydney
Oct 10th 06.45am Vladivostok
Oct 10th 07.45am Suva
Oct 10th 08.45am Auckland
Oct 10th 09.45am Kiritimati

Information from the Imagine Peace website:

 

Dear Friends

Make sure you visit www.IMAGINEPEACE.com on October 9th, John Lennon’s birthday, for the unveiling of the incredible IMAGINE PEACE TOWER on the isle of Videy,Reykjavik, Iceland.

Please visit the site, have a look around, IMAGINE PEACE and send your wishes to join over 495,000 others buried in capsules around the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, dedicated to my late husband: musician, poet, artist and peace activist, John Lennon.

Please join us on October 9th at www.IMAGINEPEACE.com
Wherever you are, we will all be together that day.

With the deepest love,

yoko ono

—————————————————————————

Visit www.IMAGINEPEACE.com to send your wishes to the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER and join the biggest online peace demonstration on October 9th.

The website contains over 160 pages, loads of easter eggs, and is being augmented every day. Explore, have fun, participate, IMAGINE PEACE and join Yoko Ono and thousands of others at www.IMAGINEPEACE.com on October 9th for the unveiling of the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, when we will be uploading photos and videos of the days events as they happen.

————————————————————————–

The IMAGINE PEACE TOWER is an artwork conceived by Yoko Ono in memory of John Lennon.

It is dedicated to peace and bears the inscription IMAGINE PEACE in 24 languages.

Its construction and installation is a collaboration between Yoko Ono, the City of Reykjavik, Reykjavik Art Museum and Reykjavik Energy.

The work is in the form of a wishing well from which a very strong and tall tower of light emerges. The strength, intensity and brilliance of the light tower continually changes as the particles in the air fluctuate with the prevailing weather and atmospheric conditions unique to Iceland.

Every year it will light up between October 9th (Lennon’s birthday) and December 8th (the day of his death).

In addition the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER will be lit on New Year’s Eve, during the first week of spring and on some rare special occasions agreed between the City and Yoko Ono.

—————————————————————————-

A dream you dream alone is only a dream
A dream you dream together is reality
Yoko Ono

Imagine all the people living life in peace
John Lennon

Advertisements

Sniffin’ out the info

Photobucket

Blog visitors

  • 185,584 (thanks :))