This list was compiled from information from various lists (AVMA, USDA, and two state lists) along with other information I found on the internet. Considering how time-consuming and difficult I found it to get accurate information on who to contact in each area, let alone the State Veterinarian for each area, I’m not the least bit surprised so many owners are finding it difficult as well. (I won’t even go into how frustrating trying to format this has been…apologies for the funky formatting. ;))

In cases where the most recent information wasn’t clear, I listed all information given from the various lists and put compiled next to it. Information directly from a state’s web site is listed as such. If you run across any information that is incorrect OR if you find out information for an area not covered, PLEASE leave a comment and I will update it as soon as possible. Thanks ahead of time for your assistance. šŸ™‚ (last update 3/30/07 5PM)

FDA complaint centers

Pet Connection database

United States, Canada, Guam, Puerto Rico, and Washington DC:

ALABAMA (from State site)
Dr. Tony Frazier, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture and Industries
P.O. Box 3336
Montgomery, AL 36109-0336
Telephone: (334) 240-7253 ext. 1
Fax: (334) 240-7198
Email: stvet@agi.state.al.us
Website: http://www.agi.alabama.gov/state_veterinarian

ALASKA (compiled)
Dr. Robert Gerlach, State Veterinarian
Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Environmental Health
5251 Hinkle Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
Telephone: (907) 375-8214, (907) 375-8215, (907)375-8200
Fax: (907) 929-7335
E-mail:bob_gerlach@dec.state.ak.us
Website: http://www.dec.state.ak.us/eh/vet/index.htm

ARIZONA (from State site)
Dr. Richard D. Willer, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture
1688 W. Adams – Room 321
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-4293
Fax: (602) 542-4290
E-mail: rwiller@azda.gov
Website: http://www.azda.gov/ASD/state_vet.htm

ARKANSAS (compiled)
George Pat Badley, D.V.M., State Veterinarian
Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission
No. 1 Natural Resources Drive
P.O. Box 8505
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-8505

TELEPHONE: (501) 907-2400

FAX: (501) 907-2425

E-MAIL: pbadle@arlpc.org

CALIFORNIA (compiled)
Dr. Richard E. Breitmeyer, State Veterinarian
Dr. Annette Whiteford, Director
California Department of Food and Agriculture
1220 N Street, Suite 409
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-654-0881 (Dr. Whiteford Office)
916-651-6870 (Dr. Breitmeyer Office)
916-651-1713 (Dr. Breitmeyer Fax)
916-653-4249 (Dr. Whiteford Fax)
E-Mail: CaVet@cdfa.ca.gov
E-mail: rbreitme@cdfa.ca.gov
,rbreitmeyer@cdfa.ca.gov
Website: http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/

CANADA (compiled)
Agriculture Canada
Animal Health Division
Haldon House
2255 Carling Avenue
Ottawa Ontario
Canada KIA OY9
(613)952-8000/(613) 759-1000

COLORADO (compiled)
Dr. John Maulsby, State Veterinarian

Department of Agriculture
700 Kipling St., Suite 4000
Lakewood, CO 80215-8000
Telephone: (303)239-4161
Fax: (303)239-4164

E-Mail: john.maulsby@ag.state.co.us
Website: http://www.ag.state.co.us/animals/animals.html

CONNECTICUT (compiled)
Dr. Mary Lis, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture
165 Capitol Avenue, Room G-8A
Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: (860) 713-2505, (800) 861-9939
Fax: (860) 713-2515
E-mail: mary.lis@po.state.ct.us

Web site: www.ct.gov/doag

DELAWARE (compiled)
R.L. Ricker, VMD, Acting State Veterinarian
Delaware Department of Agriculture
2320 S. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
Telephone:(302) 739-4811,
(302) 698-4560
Fax: (302) 697-4451
E-mail: Robert.ricker@state.de.us
Website: http://dda.delaware.gov/

FLORIDA (compiled)
Dr. Thomas J. Holt, State Veterinarian and Director
Division of Animal Industry
Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services
407 S. Calhoun St.
Mayo Building, MS-M7
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
Telephone: (850) 410-0900, (850)410-0910
Fax: (850) 410-0915, (850)410-0957
E-mail: holtt@doacs.state.fl.us
Website: http://doacs.state.fl.us/ai/

GEORGIA (compiled)
Dr. Lee M. Myers, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture
19 Martin Luther King Blvd.
Capitol Square, Room 106
Atlanta, GA 30334-4201
Telephone:(404) 656-3671
Fax: (404) 657-1357
E-mail:lmyers@agr.state.ga.us
Website: http://agr.georgia.gov/02/doa/home/0,2473,38902732,00.html;jsessionid=044650E8452749DB849DD1B86BD12D19

GUAM (compiled)
Dr. Steven Nusbaum OR Thomas N. Poole, DVM

Territorial Veterinarian
PO Box 2950
Agana, GU 96910

Telephone: (671) 735-3943

Web site: http://www.guamepa.govguam.net/programs/admin/index.html

HAWAII (compiled)

Dr. James Foppoli, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture
Division of Animal Industry
99-941 Halawa Valley St.
Aiea, HI 96701-5699
Telephone: (808) 483-7111
Fax (808) 483-7110
E-mail: james.foppoli@gte.net
, James.M.Foppoli@hawaii.gov
Website: http://www.hawaiiag.org/hdoa/

IDAHO (compiled)
Greg Ledbetter, DVM, Administrator
Dept. of Agriculture
P. O. Box 7249
Boise, ID 83707-9985
Telephone : (208) 332-8540
Fax: (208) 334-4062
E-mail: gledbetter@idahoag.us
Website: http://www.agri.state.id.us/Categories/Animals/indexAnimals.php

ILLINOIS (compiled)
Mark J. Ernst, DVM, State Veterinarian
Division of Food Safety and Protection
Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare
Illinois Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 19281, State Fairgrounds
Springfield, IL 62794-9281
Telephone: (217)782-4944
Fax: (217)558-6033 OR (217)524-7702
E-Mail: mark.ernst@illinois.gov , mark_ernst@agr.state.il.us

OR memst1@agr.state.il.us
Website: www.agr.state.il.us

INDIANA (compiled)
Dr. Bret D. Marsh, State Veterinarian
805 Beachway Drive, Suite 50
Indianapolis, IN 46224-7785
Telephone: (317) 227-0300 OR (317)227-0303
Fax:(317) 227-0368 OR (317)227-0330
E-mail: bmarsh@boah.in.gov
Website: http://www.in.gov/boah/

IOWA (from State site)
David D. Schmitt, DVM, Acting State Veterinarian
Bureau of Animal Industry
State of Iowa Department of Agriculture
502 E. 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: (515) 281-8601, (515)281-8617
Fax: (515) 281-4282
E-Mail: david.schmitt@idals.state.ia.us
Web site: www.agriculture.state.ia.us/

http://www.agriculture.state.ia.us/aidirectory.htm

KANSAS (from State site)

Mr. George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner
Kansas Animal Health Department
708 SW Jackson
Topeka, KS 66603-3714
Telephone: (785)-296-2326
Fax:
(785)296-1765, (785) 296-1795
E-Mail: gteagarden@kahd.ks.gov
Web site: www.accesskansas.org/kahd

KENTUCKY (from State site)
Dr. Robert C. Stout, State Veterinarian
100 Fair Oaks Lane, Suite 252
Frankfort, KY 40601
Telephone: (502) 564-3956
Fax: (502) 564-7852
E-Mail: robert.stout@ky.gov OR Robert.Stout@ky.gov
Website: http://www.kyagr.com/statevet/index.htm

LOUISIANA (compiled)
Dr. Henry Moreau, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture
Office of Animal Health Services
P.O. Box 1951
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821
Telephone (504) 925-3980
Fax: (225) 925-4103
E-mail: hmoreau@ldaf.state.la.us
Website: http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/default.asp

MAINE (compiled)
Dr. Donald E. Hoenig, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture ā€“ Food and Rural Resources
28 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0028
207-287-3701 (Office)
207-624-5044 (Fax)
E-Mail: donald.e.hoenig@maine.gov
Web site: www.state.me.us/agriculture

MARYLAND (compiled)
Guy Hohenhaus, DVM, State Veterinarian
Tom Jacobs, DVM, Assistant State Veterinarian
Animal Health Program
Maryland Department of Agriculture
50 Harry S. Truman Pkwy.
Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone (Dr. Hohenhaus ) (410)841-5810
(Dr. Jacobs) (410)841-5810
(Fax) (410) 841-5999
E-Mail: hohengs@mda.state.md.us – Dr. Hohenhaus
E-Mail: jacobst@mda.state.md.us – Dr. Jacobs
Website: http://www.mda.state.md.us/animal_health/

MASSACHUSETTS (from State site)
Dr. David M. Sherman, Acting State Veterinarian
Bureau of Animal Health
251 Causeway St., Suite 500
Boston, MA 02114 -2151
Telephone: ( 617) 626-1790
Fax: (626-1850)
E-mail: David.Sherman@state.ma.us
Website: http://www.mass.gov/agr/animalhealth/animalhealth_statevet.htm

MICHIGAN (compiled)
Steven L. Halstead, DVM, MS, State Veterinarian
Michigan Department of Agriculture
Animal Industry Division
P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909
517-373-1077 (Office)
517-241-4502 (Fax)
E-Mail: halsteads@michigan.gov
Website: http://www.michigan.gov/mda

MINNESOTA (from State site)
Dr. William L. Hartmann, Executive Director and State Veterinarian
State of Minnesota
Board of Animal Health
625 Robert Street, North
St. Paul, MN 55155
Telephone (651) 296-2942
Fax: (651) 296-7417
E-mail: bill.hartmann@bah.state.mn.us
Website: http://www.bah.state.mn.us/

OR http://www.bah.state.mn.us/index/board/state_veterinarian.htm

MISSISSIPPI (from State site)
Dr. James A. Watson, State Veterinarian
Board of Animal Health
121 North Jefferson Street
P. O. Box 3889
Jackson, MS 39207
Telephone (601) 359-1170
Fax (601) 359-1177
E-mail: jimw@mdac.state.ms.us
Website: http://www.mdac.state.ms.us/
, http://www.mdac.state.ms.us/n_library/departments/anim_health/index_animhealth.html

MISSOURI (compiled)
Dr. Taylor Woods, Acting State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Health
P.O. Box 630

1616 Missouri Boulevard
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630
Telephone (573) 751-3377
Fax: (573) 751-6919
E-mail: Taylor.Woods@mda.mo.gov
Website: http://mda.mo.gov/WhoWeAre/i4a.htm

OR
Shane Brookshire, D.V.M., State Veterinarian

Missouri Department of Agriculture

Animal Health Division

1616 Missouri Boulevard

P.O. Box 630

Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0630

TELEPHONE: (573) 751-3377

FAX: (573) 751-6919

E-MAIL: shane.brookshire@mda.mo.gov

MONTANA (compiled)
Jeanne Ranking, DVM, Acting State VeterinarianVeterinarian
Montana Department of Livestocknimal Health Division
P.O. Box202001
Helena, MT 59620-2001
Telephone: (406) 444-2043
Fax: (406) 444-1929
E-mail: jrankin@mt.gov

Website: http://www.discoveringmontana.com/liv/

NEBRASKA (compiled)

Dennis Hughes, D.V.M., State Veterinaria

Nebraska Department of Agriculture

Bureau of Animal Industry

P.O. Box 94787

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4787

TELEPHONE: (402) 471-2351

FAX: (402) 471-6893 OR (402)471-3252

E-MAIL: dhughes@agr.ne.gov

NEVADA (compiled)
Dr. David Thain, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
Bureau of Animal Industry
350 Capitol Hill Ave.
Reno, NV 89502
Telephone: (702) 688-1188
Fax: (702) 688-1178
E-mail: dthain@govmail.state.nv.us
Website: http://agri.state.nv.us/indexa.html

OR
Anette Rink, D.V.M., Ph.D., State Veterinarian

Nevada Department of Agriculture

350 Capitol Hill Avenue

Reno, Nevada 89502-2992

TELEPHONE: (775) 688-1182, Ext. 232

FAX: (775) 688-1178

E-MAIL: arink@govmail.state.nv.us

NEW HAMPSHIRE (from State site)
Dr. Stephen K. Crawford, State Veterinarian
New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food
P.O. Box 2042
Concord, NH 03302-2042
603-271-2404 (Office)
603-271-1109 (Fax)
E-Mail: scrawford@agr.state.nh.us
Web site: www.agriculture.nh.gov
, http://www.nh.gov/agric/contactus.htm

NEW JERSEY (compiled)
Dr. Nancy E. Halpern DVM, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture
Div. of Animal Health
P. O. Box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625
Telephone: (609) 292-3965
Fax: (609) 777-8395
E-mail: nancy.halpern@ag.state.nj.us
Website: http://www.state.nj.us/agriculture/

NEW MEXICO (compiled)
Dr. Steven R. England, State Veterinarian
Livestock Board
300 San Mateo Boulevard, NE, Suite 1000
Albuquerque , NM 87108-1500
Telephone: (505) 841-6161
Fax: (505) 841-6160
E-mail: statevetlb@prodigy.net
Website: http://nmdaweb.nmsu.edu/

NEW YORK (compiled)
Dr. John P. Huntley, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
Division of Animal Industry
Winners Circle
Albany, NY 12235
Telephone (518) 457-3502
Fax:(518) 485-7773
E-mail: john.huntley@agmkt.state.ny.us
Website: http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/AI/AIHome.html

NORTH CAROLINA (from State site)
Dr. David T. Marshall, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030
Telephone: (919) 733-7601
Fax: (919) 733-6431
E-mail: david.marshall@ncmail.net
Website: http://www.ncagr.com/vet/index.htm

NORTH DAKOTA (from State site)
Dr. Susan J. Keller, State Veterinarian
North Dakota State Board of Animal Health
North Dakota Department of Agriculture
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 602
Bismarck, ND 58505-0020
701-328-2655 OR 1-900-242-7535 (Office)
701-328-4567 (Fax)
E-Mail: skeller@nd.gov
Web site: http://www.agdepartment.com/
http://www.agdepartment.com/Staff.html

OHIO (compiled)
Dr. R. David Glauer, State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Industry
8995 E. Main Street
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068
Telephone: (614) 728-6220,
(614) 752-9817
Fax: (614) 728-6310
E-mail:
glauer@odant.agri.state.oh.us
Website: http://www.ohioagriculture.gov/pubs/divs/anim/anim-index.stm

OKLAHOMA (from State site)
Dr. Becky Brewer, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
Animal Industry Division
2800 N Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Telephone: (580) 522-6131
Fax: (580) 522-0756
E-mail:
becky.brewer@oda.state.ok.us
Website:
http://www.oda.state.ok.us/ais-home.htm http://www.oda.state.ok.us/ais-staffhome.htm

OREGON (from State site)
Dr. Donald E. Hansen, State Veterinarian
Oregon Department of Agriculture
635 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97301
Telephone: (503) 986-4680 )
Fax: (503) 986-4734
E-Mail: dhansen@oda.state.or.us
Web site: www.oregon.gov/oda/ahid http://www.state.or.us/agencies.ns/60300/00040/00005/index.html

PENNSYLVANIA (compiled)

Dr. Paul E. Knepley, State Veterinarian
Bureau of Animal Health and Diagnostic Services
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
2301 N. Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9408
Telephone: (717) 772-2852
Fax: (717) 787-1868)
E-Mail: pknepley@state.pa.us
Web site: www.pda.state.pa.us

PUERTO RICO (compiled)
Dr. Hector J. Diaz, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
Hwy. 693-Kilometer 40 Barrio Higuillar
Dorado, PR 00646
P.O. Box 10163 (Mail address)
San Juan, PR 00908-1163
787-796-1650 (Office)
787-796-5873 (Fax)
E-Mail: hjdiaz_veterinaria@yahoo.com

RHODE ISLAND (compiled)

Christopher Hannafin, D.V.M, State Veterinarian
Div. of Agriculture
Dept. of Environmental Management,
Animal Health Section
235 Promenade Street, Room 370, 3rd floor
Providence, RI 02908-5767
Telephone: (401) 222-2781
Fax: (401) 222-6047
E-mail: channafi@d.e.m.state.ri.us OR christopher.hannafin@dem.ri.gov
Website: http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/bnatres/agricult/index.htm

SOUTH CAROLINA (from State site)
Dr. John Caver, State Veterinarian
Clemson University
Livestock- Poultry Health Division
P.O. Box 102406
Columbia, SC 29224-2406
Telephone: (803) 788-2260 x. 234
Fax: (803) 788-8058
E-mail: jcaver@clemson.edu
Website: http://www.clemson.edu/LPH/

SOUTH DAKOTA (from State site)
Dr. Sam D. Holland, State Veterinarian
Animal Industry Board
411 S. Fort Street
Pierre, SD 57501-4503
Telephone: (605) 773-3321
Fax No: (605) 773-5459
E-mail: dr.holland@state.sd.us
Website: http://www.state.sd.us/aib/

TENNESSEE (from State site)
Dr. Ronald B. Wilson, State Veterinarian
P.O. Box 40627
Nashville, TN 37204
Telephone (615) 837-5120
Fax: (615) 837-5250
E-mail: ron.wilson@state.tn.us
Website: http://www.state.tn.us/agriculture/regulate/animals/statevet.html http://www.state.tn.us/agriculture/regulate/animals/index.html

TEXAS (from State site)
Dr. Bob Hillman, State Veterinarian
Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Wildlife Division
Animal Health Commission
210 Barton Springs Road
P.O. Box 12966
Austin, TX 78711-2966
Telephone: (512) 719-0700
Fax: (512) 719-0719
E-mail: bhillman@tahc.state.tx.us
Website: http://www.tahc.state.tx.us/
http://www.tahc.state.tx.us/agency/contact.shtml

UTAH (compiled)
Dr. Earl Rogers, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
350 N. Redwood Road
P.O. Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500
Telephone: (801) 538-7160
Fax: (801) 538-7169
E-mail: erogers@utah.gov
Website: http://ag.utah.gov/animind/ahealth.html

VERMONT (from State site)
Dr. Kerry Rood, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
Livestock Division
116 State Street, Drawer 20
Montpelier, VT 05602-2901
Telephone: (802) 828-2421
Fax: (802) 828-5983
E-mail: kerry.rood@state.vt.us
Website: http://www.vermontagriculture.com/
,http://www.vermontagriculture.com/contacts.htm

VIRGINIA (from State site)
Dr. Richard Wilkes, State Veterinarian and Director
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
102 Governor Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Telephone: (804) 786-2483
Fax: (804) 225-2666
E-Mail: richard.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov
Web site: www.vdacs.virginia.gov

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/orgdirectory/org-state.shtml

WASHINGTON D.C (compiled)
VETERINARIAN
Animal Health
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone: (410) 841-5782

WASHINGTON STATE (from State site)
Dr. Leonard Eldridge, State Veterinarian
Animal Services Division
Washington State Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 42577
Olympia, WA 98504-2577
360-902-1878 (Office)
360-902-2087 (Fax)
E-Mail: leldridge@agr.wa.gov
Web site: http://agr.wa.gov/FoodAnimal/AnimalHealth/default.htm

WEST VIRGINIA (from State site)
Dr. L. Joe Starcher, State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, WV 25305-0172
Telephone: (304) 558-2214 x. 4650
Fax: (304) 558-2231
E-mail: jstarcher@ag.state.wv.us
Website: http://www.wvagriculture.org

http://www.wvagriculture.org/WVDA%20Directory/Animal%20Health.htm

WISCONSIN (compiled)
Dr. Robert Ehlenfeldt, State Veterinarian
Dept. of Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection
P. O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708-8911
Telephone No: (608) 224-4872
Fax: (608) 224-4871
E-mail: Robert.ehlenfeldt@datcp.state.wi.us
Website: www.datcp.state.wi.us

WYOMING (from State site)
Walter Cook, DVM, Acting State Veterinarian
Wyoming Livestock Board
2020 Carey Avenue, Fourth Floor
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
TELEPHONE: (307) 777-6443

FAX: (307) 777-6561

E-MAIL: wcook2@state.wy.us
Website: http://wlsb.state.wy.us/wlsbstaff.htm#State%20Veterinarian http://wlsb.state.wy.us/